Ignoring Caster

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2015: Ignoring Caster
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Richard Eagle Ida Fls on Tuesday, September 01, 2015 - 03:37 pm:

I have been an amateur Model T mechanic for 50 years now. I've become proficient at some things and chosen to ignore others. When I restored my 1915 Runabout in 1985 it developed a front end shimmy. I read what I could and applied some of the remedies that were suggested. None seemed to help and I learned how to drive out of the shimmy. I ignored the caster as it was set at the factory and the cures seemed to be bending the axle. I feared I might make it worse. This Summer I added a lower wishbone thinking that might cure it. It became worse. A simple look told me it had plenty of caster. Upon checking the angle I found it was over 12 degrees, not 5 1/2 as it should be. The lower radius rods threaded into a yoke with pipe threads. On doing some calculations I found I needed to re-thread the rods to make them 1/2 inch shorter.

I just took a test drive through a park with several speed bumps and nary a shake or wobble. Conquering a problem can make you feel great. That's part of what I like about Model T's.

Everything you need to know about checking caster is covered in paragraphs 147 & 148 of the Model T Ford Service manual. Many aspects of the Model T seem intimidating but are really quite simple. The Forum addresses all these things somewhere or other. There are many things that can cause shimmy and caster is only one and often overlooked.

Rich

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Dan Treace, North FL on Tuesday, September 01, 2015 - 06:02 pm:

Rich

Nice of you there!

That is the fun, attending to the right job and getting it fixed.