Soldering brass

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2015: Soldering brass
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Bill Elliott on Tuesday, September 01, 2015 - 05:03 pm:

How difficult is it to solder brass? My original brass radiator for my '14 has a small leak at the seam for the top tank and side. I tried JB Weld, but it didn't hold so I scraped it out. I think all I need to so is lay some solder in the seam, but I've never done it before. Any advice?

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Jack Daron - Brownsburg IN on Tuesday, September 01, 2015 - 05:54 pm:

You can easily solder Brass if it is very clean and you use good flux. Only use the flux where you want the solder to be and be very stingy with it.Most solder on the Brass radiators was put on from the inside,

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Richard Eagle Ida Fls on Tuesday, September 01, 2015 - 06:10 pm:

I agree. Clean and Flux. A little practice on something else will help.

Rich

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Ted Dumas on Tuesday, September 01, 2015 - 07:42 pm:

You need to practice quite a bit on some scrap brass as Richard suggested. You need to learn how to be very good before you start or you will have a real mess on your hands. See if you can get a black radiator from the junkyard for a
20 year old car , then sweat off the tank and solder it back in place. If you have any left over JB weld in the joint the solder will not take. If you get it too hot things will come apart.

I assume you have no soldering experience. Remember if your metal is not clean as Jack says the solder will not take.