Head Gasket replacement

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2015: Head Gasket replacement
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Kevin Weeds on Monday, September 07, 2015 - 05:15 am:

This is my first time replacing a gasket. My order has arrived, 2 steel & one copper head gaskets.
1927 running a Z head.
The car had a valve replace before I purchased it in Feb and gasket was reused. I'm hoping the head was cleaned and checked then.
What I'm asking is for any hints about the process before I start. I undone the studs today but haven't lifted it yet, I'm going to town on Wed and will take a head bolt to ensure I purchase the correct bottoming tap.
So I plan to remove the head, clean it up, clean the bolt holes and check thread depth. I will number the studs and return to the same holes using the washers.
I will check the fitting of the two types of gaskets and post some pics.
Whats the best way to check if the head & block is straight?
Any hints on the refitting process?
Thanks Guys

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Allan Bennett - Australia on Monday, September 07, 2015 - 06:27 am:

Kevin, the Z head sometimes has some problems with the head surface not quite matching the gasket. There's not a lot you can do about that, but it is helpful if you turn the motor over so two of the pistons are at the top of their travel. This will help to position the gasket in an optimal position. Once you have all the bolts in place, crank the motor over to make sure you have no clearance problems. Then tension down as required.

I have never used other than the copper head gasket with a Z head, liberally coated both sides with Aluminised paint as a sealant. Others will have differing opinions.

Allan from down under.