Setting generator brushes

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2015: Setting generator brushes
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Gary Defosse on Monday, October 26, 2015 - 02:13 pm:

I have checked the Model T Ford service manual and tried searching old threads but am still confused about setting the brushes. I replaced the brushes and cleaned the inside of the generator the best I could, and now need to adjust the brush holder assembly and the third brush. I am relatively new to the model t and need some help. The generator is still out of the car. Thanks for any help.
Gary

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Roger Karlsson, southern Sweden on Monday, October 26, 2015 - 02:19 pm:

Adjust the brush holder so the generator won't motor with the third brush lifted. Then check with the third brush down so it motors, further adjustments in the car with the ammeter connected :-)

The Mtfca electrical manual is also worth more than the $12 it costs ;)

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Mark Gregush Portland Oregon on Monday, October 26, 2015 - 09:19 pm: