Thrust washer question

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2015: Thrust washer question
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By John Mays on Friday, November 06, 2015 - 07:23 pm:

We recently had the thrust washers upgraded in our '14 T. Do all Model T Fords need to have the thrust washers checked or is it just earlier years? Was the metal in the thrust washers improved at some point prior to 1927? Thanks

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By John T. Tannehill III, Hot Coffee, MS on Friday, November 06, 2015 - 07:53 pm:

Let me start by saying I'm no expert. I believe the early cars had bronze thrust washers then Babbitt was used however it really doesn't matter you should check to be sure. Over the years some one may have replaced the thrust washers, with what, you don't know unless you actually saw it or did the replacing. Your life or your passengers lives depends on it. A penny's worth of prevention is worth a ......well you know the rest.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Royce in Georgetown TX on Friday, November 06, 2015 - 08:59 pm:

This is not true. The 1909 Ford parts catalog shows babbitt thrust washers. I disassembled the rear axle of 904 last month and it still had its original - and perfect- babbitt thrust washers. The car now has bronze thrust washers for the first time.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By John T. Tannehill III, Hot Coffee, MS on Friday, November 06, 2015 - 09:29 pm:

Royce wasn't there a thread that spoke to this? I believe I remember reading something concerning that, thus my answer. Thanks for setting me straight.