1925 Front Spindle

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2015: 1925 Front Spindle
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Bryan C on Tuesday, November 17, 2015 - 11:37 am:

Does this look correct to everyone? It's the drivers front spindle. I have the spindle arm going up and in with the Ford logo down and the hole is generally lined up with the spindle body holes. Thanks

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By David Dewey, N. California on Tuesday, November 17, 2015 - 01:06 pm:

I'm no expert, but it doesn't look right to me, the end of the arm is almost directly behind the kingpin. Is it possible the spindle is twisted?? & how on earth would that happen without leaving some evidence?

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Steve Tomaso - Longbranch,WA on Tuesday, November 17, 2015 - 01:46 pm:

I have a spindle body (not sure which side) with the exact same malformation ! Was sold to a friend as "NOS" - now I know why - not enough thread on the tie rod to get the front wheels in alignment ! Tie rod arm should be 90 degrees from the spindle unless there was a "special application". WTF !???

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Bryan C on Tuesday, November 17, 2015 - 01:54 pm:

I assume the king pin is the main body hole where I put the brass bushings?
I thought about asking about that earlier actually but it didn't look like anything was broken or twisted. My passenger side spindle is not like that at all. I just assumed that's how it went.
I may have the wrong terminology here but the hole for the spindle arm on the passenger side looks to be exactly 90 degrees from the actual spindle while this one is more like 75.