Model T sat for 3 weeks - now has no power in high gear - help!

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2015: Model T sat for 3 weeks - now has no power in high gear - help!
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By lyndel butler on Saturday, November 28, 2015 - 09:40 am:

Model T was running fine about 3 weeks ago. Pulled it in the garage and parked it (for about 3 weeks) and all was well. Got it out a couple of days ago and it has no power in high gear but will idle ok. I'm new to the Model T world. Any advice would be appreciated.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Royce in Dallas TX on Saturday, November 28, 2015 - 09:44 am:

Needs more gas. Below 3 gallons is empty as far as I am concerned.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Roger Karlsson, southern Sweden on Saturday, November 28, 2015 - 11:26 am:

Do you have a standard roller timer? Sometimes timer problems shows more when getting into high gear. Try cleaning it out and oil it often (if it is a timer that should be oiled)

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Bob Coiro on Saturday, November 28, 2015 - 01:14 pm:

Yeah, what Royce and Roger said. _The more gas you have in the tank, the higher the fuel pressure and below a certain level, the engine is just not as happy. _Also, the quality of today's gasoline is just dismal, with a comparatively short shelf-life. _A steady diet of Star-Tron dosing works wonders for keeping the gas fresh in my car.