Can't get it to start

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2015: Can't get it to start
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Martin Cobb on Wednesday, December 30, 2015 - 09:36 am:

I'm new to Model T's but have lost of experience with newer engines. Last year I rescued a 1917 engine from the junkyard. I did a quick valve job, installed new rings and tightened up the bearings a little. I bought a new timer and 4 new coils. The engine turns freely, sparks at the right time, and I can feel it "helping me" when I crank it trying to start it....but it doesn't make enough power to keep running. I'm using a lawnmower carburetor for now, but it seems to work OK. I've tried a little ether in the carb and even down the spark plug holes but that doesn't help. My arm is getting sore from cranking! What am I doing wrong?

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Rod Barrett - Anderson, IN on Wednesday, December 30, 2015 - 09:52 am:

First I would remove the Lawnmower Carb and install one made for Model T's. It sounds like you are not getting enough fuel. The Model T carb has a nob on the top to adjust the fuel mixture. I usually turn my out until I get the engine to start and then once the timer is advanced I adjust the fuel mixture in.

Have you checked the spark to be sure it's set at 15 degrees after top dead center with the arm all the way up?

You should not need to turn the engine over fast. Use your left hand and gently turn the engine over. If the fuel is right, the engine will start once the spark occurs at 15 degrees.

I hope this helps.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Richard Gould, Folsom, CA on Wednesday, December 30, 2015 - 09:56 am: