1923 Ignition location

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2008: 1923 Ignition location
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Mike Hall on Wednesday, December 24, 2008 - 02:20 pm:

I just bought a 1923 Touring car. The ignition coil box is mounted directly to the engine. I'm new to this, but thought the coil box is located behind the firewall. There are holes in the firewall where I would expect the insulator tubes to be. From the number cast in the block, the engine appears to be from 1918.

Thanks in advance

Mike

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By jkcallin on Wednesday, December 24, 2008 - 02:39 pm:

You have a 26-27 coil box. Your coils should be inside the car on the firewall. Check the number stamped above the water inlet on the left side of the block to determine the year of the engine

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Les Schubert on Wednesday, December 24, 2008 - 02:42 pm:

Mike
well that sounds like a lot of cars you find out there. Just why do you think it is a 23? Starter? Generator (not likely if it has a 18 block)? Steel or wooden firewall? Battery box in the frame? The engine mounted coil box sure is typical 26-7.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Garnet on Wednesday, December 24, 2008 - 03:01 pm:

Set yerself down for some good reading Mike and check out the MTFCA Encyclopedia. It explains changes from year to year and it should help you decide what year your Touring is.

Regards,
Garnet

http://www.mtfca.com/encyclo/index.htm

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Ron Patterson on Wednesday, December 24, 2008 - 05:44 pm:

Mike