Old rusty tools

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2008: Old rusty tools
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Robert on Thursday, January 08, 2009 - 06:04 pm:

After restoring my 1924 TT C CAB, I have been picking up some orginal tools to go with it. I am new to restoring so my truck is around the farm and tractor shows, parade truck not a show truck. Do you guys sandblast the tools and paint them? or leave them rusty Robert

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By jack daron-Indy. on Thursday, January 08, 2009 - 06:07 pm:

I clean mine and paint them with flat black.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By DAREL J. LEIPOLD on Thursday, January 08, 2009 - 07:42 pm:

Never sand blast them and never, never paint any tool that was not painted originally. Some T tools were painted and I am sure others will comment on that. Some use farm feed type molasses to soak the rusty items in. A natural "acid" cleans them up real well. I rub clean tools with thin oil.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Ivan Warrington on Thursday, January 08, 2009 - 07:51 pm:

I use a #80 glass bead to blast them with. I use a small blaster from Harbor Freight, cheap and good. The glass bead does no damage other than make them shine, then I paint with Duplicolor black lacquer.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Robert on Thursday, January 08, 2009 - 09:45 pm:

ok, so i can bead blast them. Now how do i know which were painted and which were not? Robert

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By jack daron-Indy. on Thursday, January 08, 2009 - 10:02 pm: