Horn wire

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2008: Horn wire
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By John Fenton on Saturday, January 10, 2009 - 04:48 pm:

What is the correct way to attach the horn wire to the steering column where it runs from the button towards the firewall? (1915 roadster)Thanks; John

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Henry Petrino on Saturday, January 10, 2009 - 04:58 pm:

I'm not an expert on this, but as I understand it, the 1915-16 steering column has a tube on the underside of the column to put the wire in and threaded holes in top of the colum itself, up near the steering wheel, to attach the horn button. If your car dosen't have the wire tube, it may be an older, pre 1915-16, column.

I hope this helps.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By George on Saturday, January 10, 2009 - 05:05 pm:

Yup...just depends on when car was built [oh boy,, here goes another debate :-)

If the original car was a klaxton horn, no tube. If it had a mag horn, tube in place. A good chance there may have been overlap with klaxton AND tubes, but no way the opposite could have happened.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By George on Saturday, January 10, 2009 - 05:21 pm:

oooops...just checked the bible..........

No official record of Klaxton use exists...so change above to bulb horn.

Check engine number. From about early Feb. 1915 the electric magneto horn was cut in....

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By john Fenton on Saturday, January 10, 2009 - 05:32 pm: