1911 Running Board Brackets - final story

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2008: 1911 Running Board Brackets - final story
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Ward Sherwood on Tuesday, January 20, 2009 - 12:12 pm:

Thanks to all for all of the information provided to me on the previous thread. And, it is now time to put an end to the story.

I'm new to this stuff. I had two running board brackets that appeared to match, and they were at the LR and RF locations. The two other brackets also seemed to match in the LF and RR locations, but it turns out that they were bent. It all became very clear when I removed the splash aprons.

bracket

The left-rear bracket measures just as John Regan's frame diagram shows at 18 1/8 inches out from the frame to the center of the hole. It appears to match the contour shown on the 1911 bracket in Phil Mino's picture. It appears level. It sits about 17 1/4 inches from the floor.

bracket

Compare that to the left-front bracket. It measures about 19 1/8 inches out from the frame and about 18 1/2 inches from the floor. You can see it partly in the picture, but it is bent.

bracket

The result is shown here with a straight piece of wood clamped to the outside edge of each bracket. My running boards are making a left turn, while the wheels and frame travel straight. The same thing is happening on the other side. Additionally, the slope of the running board goes from low in the rear to high on the front on the left running board, and just the opposite on the right runningboard. It makes for a very cattywumpus appearance, as if the whole car has been sprung and twisted.