Wanting a T

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2016: Wanting a T
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Gale Bray on Tuesday, January 12, 2016 - 04:07 pm:

I'm new to the Model T and am not sure how to value the vehicles I view for purchase. Currently, I looked at a TT with a good chassis and fenders, a homebuilt flatbed, an engine 10 years older that didn't want to start, incorrect rear wheels and tires, and a hood that was only half there. The coils didn't fire when hooked to a battery. I offered $1,600 to no avail. Was my offer much too low?

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Tom Palmisano on Tuesday, January 12, 2016 - 04:18 pm:

Did it have a cab? If so what style (c cab, enclosed steel cab, or aftermarket wood cab)? what was incorrect about the rear wheels and tires? Do you have any pictures? Pricing depends on condition of parts, what is missing, whether it runs and drives (and how well it does this).

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Roger Karlsson, southern Sweden on Tuesday, January 12, 2016 - 04:20 pm:

If the TT was close to running condition, the offer may have been a bit low, but it's almost impossible to tell without pictures. What type of body does it have?
Rusty? Condition of the wood?
There are thousands of TT's in various conditions over the United States so you'll soon find others for sale - but if you don't want a wreck that'll need thousands in parts and years of work until it's drivable, then you may have to go up in starting price. The cheapest T in the end is often a running T - or one that has been put into running condition in recent decades, so someone else has taken the large bills for the restoration.