A question about 1912 B serial no. engines

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2016: A question about 1912 B serial no. engines
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Colin Mavins Winnipeg,Canada on Friday, January 22, 2016 - 11:59 am:

I have run across a Canadian early 1913 touring with a late 1912 B serial Number engine. I was under the impression the B blocks were used in American cars only, I'm I correct or were they used were ever needed

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By M G Hillhouse on Friday, January 22, 2016 - 12:59 pm:

I have a'12 Torpedo with a B numbered motor USA. In researching it I know at least one B engine was in Australia. I'm far from an expert but if one is in AU then it's possible one could be Canadian. Is the body a square door '13 or slab side '12? I'm interested as well in information. MG

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Frank van Ekeren (Australia) on Friday, January 22, 2016 - 03:34 pm:

According to Frontenac Motor Company, under Ford of Canada.

Starting in 1913 ford began assigning serial numbers to Canadian built cars with a 'C' prefix.
There is also records indicating that a 'B' series of engines numbers were also assigned, these are engine numbers from B1 to B12247 oct1 1912 to sep30 1913.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Andrew Brand on Friday, January 22, 2016 - 04:37 pm:

Hi Colin. There are quite a few B series engine blocks in Australia.

Andrew.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Allan Bennett - Australia on Friday, January 22, 2016 - 05:42 pm: