Model T engine dies while driving

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2016: Model T engine dies while driving
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By David Monthey on Sunday, February 07, 2016 - 08:38 pm:

I just bought my first model t. It's a 1918 touring. The motor dates to July 1918. I'm still learning What all I need to know.

My problem is this
The motor will idle for as long as you let it with no problems, however when driving the car It will sputter and die within a few minutes. When it dies I can immediately start it back up with no trouble but if you begin to move it will die again within a few minutes.

I love this site for all its helpful advice so to save time and learn I know this is the best place to ask.

Any ideas on where I should start.

And fyi I've used previous advice from this site and made sure the gas cap hole wasn't clogged

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By john kuehn on Sunday, February 07, 2016 - 08:50 pm:

Is there a restriction in the gas tank or line? Sounds like its starving for more gas. What about the bulb under the gas tank. The screen could be restricted just enough to restrict a good flow of gas.
Remove the gas line where it connects
to the bulb under the tank and see what the stream looks like.

Maybe to low in gas? T's don't have fuel pumps. The more gas you have in the tank the more gas pressure you will have. Hope this helps.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Scott Lay,,,,,,,,,,,,,,Lancaster Ca. on Sunday, February 07, 2016 - 08:51 pm: