22 goes reverse when should be low gear

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2016: 22 goes reverse when should be low gear
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Travis Woodson on Tuesday, February 16, 2016 - 03:06 pm:

Hello everyone I am new to this page but have used it on the last 2 model T I have built. I am having a weird problem with the one I am currently getting drivable for a customer of mine. When you push the pedal to go forward it goes reverse, when I push the reverse pedal it goes low gear? How is that possible? This engine and trans did get gone threw at some point in the last 30 years. Engine runs fine. Could something be going on with the triple gears in the transmission? Or somehow a band adjustment? Thank you very much any input is appreciated.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Hal Davis-SE Georgia on Tuesday, February 16, 2016 - 03:10 pm:

Have you been into the rear end? Wouldn't be the first time someone put the ring gear on the wrong side.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Royce in Dallas TX on Tuesday, February 16, 2016 - 03:10 pm:

Rear axle is assembled backwards. Ring gear on the wrong side.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Travis Woodson on Tuesday, February 16, 2016 - 03:25 pm:

I have not been into the rear end at all. That makes perfect sense. Thank you both very much. I have manuals but have not been into the rear end. Is it pretty straight forward to take apart and flip it around?

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Erik Barrett in Auburn Ca. on Tuesday, February 16, 2016 - 03:53 pm: