Oiling my T's flip tops

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2016: Oiling my T's flip tops
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Robert Blanchard on Thursday, February 25, 2016 - 09:29 pm:

Okay, (obviously I'm new to this) so I flip open the oil/grease cups on the front axle (and all around).... now what do I put in there? Same oil as in engine? Something heavier? Grease? Butter :-)

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Jack Daron - Brownsburg IN on Thursday, February 25, 2016 - 09:34 pm:

Some folks like chain saw bar oil.It runs slower.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Harold Schwendeman - Sumner,WA on Thursday, February 25, 2016 - 09:35 pm:

You'll get a whole bunch of opinions here Robert, but personally, I like chain saw bar oil in the oil can for the "flip tops" because it's a bit sticky and seems to "linger" longer where you want it, and I like boat trailer wheel bearing grease as it's more waterproof than most greases. Bottom line is, whatever you use, it'll probably be better than what was used during the Model T ear,......FWIW,......harold

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Harold Schwendeman - Sumner,WA on Thursday, February 25, 2016 - 09:36 pm:

Sorry Jack,....we were typing at the same time,......harold

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Robert Blanchard on Thursday, February 25, 2016 - 09:53 pm:

How about 600w?

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Paul Mikeska, Denver CO on Thursday, February 25, 2016 - 09:59 pm:

I use 600w. I think it is clings better than chain saw oil.