Engine knock video

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2016: Engine knock video
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Robert Blanchard on Sunday, February 28, 2016 - 06:06 pm:

I shorted every cylinder and it seemed to go away on every cylinder...

I'm not an expert on knocks so I don't know what type of sound is for what type of issue

Going to make a better video tomorrow and short it so you guys can hear and let me know what you think it could be...

For now take a listen... I am sure someone has heard this type of knock before...

http://youtu.be/4NQv6Z887Yo

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Mark Strange - Hillsboro, MO on Sunday, February 28, 2016 - 06:13 pm:

Sounds tinny, like something hitting a part of the pan, do you have those internal supplementary oil tubes that attach to the inside of the pan rails?

I would recommend pulling the pan inspection cover and having a look see with a strong flashlight. :-)

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By R. S. Cruickshank on Sunday, February 28, 2016 - 06:37 pm:

Mark had a good suggestion. Can you locate the area the sound is coming from? I had something like this and thought it was coming from the fan area. The next think I knew the engine stopped cold. It turned out to be a loose magnet and the sound was the clip. The magnet let loose and lodged between the pan and the mag. This happened after I stopped for the second time and attempted to start with the starter. It gave one grunt and that was it. At first I thought I had a broken crankshaft. I was lucky!!! No damage to the pan but needed a new mag.