24 model t ignition switch wiring problem! Help please

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2016: 24 model t ignition switch wiring problem! Help please
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Dawn Lush on Saturday, April 02, 2016 - 11:55 am:

Very much a newbie here. This is my first T and have had it stored for 8 yrs inside. Just rebuilt the carb from all of the great posts I found here. It fires right up and runs, jacked up as I have never driven one either, just want to get used to trying to smooth out the engine. Main problem I'm stuck, I can't turn it off! It starts with the key off or on. Pulled the switch out and checked wiring and to me it doesn't look right. Any advice as to which direction to go would be appreciated. I have photos of the wiring but not sure how to send them. Thanks

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Dave Dufault on Saturday, April 02, 2016 - 12:02 pm:

Turn off the gas. It will soon starve and stop running. Then disconnect battery ground terminal, and wait for a lot of good advice as to wiring :-)

(From others)

(Message edited by adave on April 02, 2016)

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Dawn Lush on Saturday, April 02, 2016 - 12:18 pm:

Wiring now

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Dawn Lush on Saturday, April 02, 2016 - 12:19 pm:

I did that, thanks only way I could stop it!

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Chad Marchees _____Tax Capital, NY on Saturday, April 02, 2016 - 12:23 pm:

Dawn, I see by your profile yours a 1924.