Pesty carb leak frustrating a newbie!

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2016: Pesty carb leak frustrating a newbie!
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Peter Adey on Wednesday, April 20, 2016 - 01:41 pm:

Well, being a newbie I expect to have some false starts and frustrating experiences – comes with the territory – does it not? Well I just got my first T (14 runabout pick-up conversion). Having a great time! A few days after I got the car it started leaking gas from the carb. Roll up the sleeves and go to work. Looked like it was coming from the gasket at the bowl. So I figured the needle was not shutting the in-line. Easy! Opened it up (on the car) and pulled the float – bent the brass tab up a bit to give it more leverage on the needle. Still leaked – garage stinks! Pulled the carb off, got a new gasket set cleaned her all out (needed it) new gaskets and popped her back in. Still leaked. I tried various things over nearly 2 weeks getting frustrated.. The float was fine – if I used my hand with the bowl off I could easily cut the flow with a feather touch on the float – This is just funky! This is NOT rocket science! I looked really hard at the leak – be darned if it didn’t look like it was coming right through the side of the bowl!. Pulled it again, held it up to the light and “I’ll be damned” a small pin hole in the bowl! Made me smile! Gotya sucker! Made me feel good to actually solve a problem! Thought you all could relate!

So... JB Weld OK for this tiny patch?

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Dennis K Anderson on Wednesday, April 20, 2016 - 02:20 pm:

Regular JB weld will not hold up to gas. I have used the"SteelStik" by JB weld company. It will withstand gas. Product No. 8267
Dennis, Maryville Tn