Head off Look about right? Newbie

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2016: Head off Look about right? Newbie
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Gida Wilkinson on Monday, April 25, 2016 - 05:19 am:

Hi all

I am new to model Ts and have inherited a 24, one of the issues with the engine was, it was running ok, pulled well and then it started spitting/steaming water out the side of the headgasket, so have removed for investigation.

As you can see where blowing top left of picture and loads of 'crud' inside to clean and flush out probably not helping.

My simple question is do the colour of the valves all look reasonable/seem ok, not a lot of carbon build up, I read about aluminium pistons instead of cast how do I tell? what I have its a bit of an unknown in that respect.

Also when I have cleaned etc should I add a sealant to my new copper gasket?

Final question for a nwbie, what would be the best method of removing the crud from the inside of the waterways, a few flushes or is there a cleaner I could use, would help?

block

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Rolf Oehman on Monday, April 25, 2016 - 07:50 am:

Use a magnet to determine if it`s aluminium pistons or not.
I have used copper spray on the head gasket. Works great.
The valves look normal to me.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By John Zibell, Huntsville, AL on Monday, April 25, 2016 - 08:14 am: