Seized engine - Glen Chaffin nailed it.

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2016: Seized engine - Glen Chaffin nailed it.
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Jem Bowkett, Spalding United Kingdom on Tuesday, May 10, 2016 - 05:03 pm:

No 1 piston has tightened up and dug into the cylinder wall. Quite why this didn't happen during running-in but waited for several thousand miles, I can't say but I'm just an amateur. The pros will probably know why.

Interesting that the expansion is neither along the line of the pin or at rightangles to it.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Jem Bowkett, Spalding United Kingdom on Tuesday, May 10, 2016 - 05:04 pm:

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Kenneth W DeLong on Tuesday, May 10, 2016 - 05:20 pm:

Jem,Hopefully the block was not damaged beyond repair? Bud.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Jem Bowkett, Spalding United Kingdom on Tuesday, May 10, 2016 - 05:24 pm:

No, just needs a light hone

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Les Schubert on Tuesday, May 10, 2016 - 05:50 pm:

Jem
Your not the first and I suspect you won't be the last. Happened to me back in '89
I have honed out several blocks for others since

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Les Schubert on Tuesday, May 10, 2016 - 05:51 pm:

Interesting that it was #1. Usually it's #4!!

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Frank Harris from Long Beach, CA on Tuesday, May 10, 2016 - 07:18 pm:

It's from climbing mount Snowdon Jem ;~)