My favorite "new" Ford tool

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2016: My favorite "new" Ford tool
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Steve Jelf, Parkerfield KS on Friday, May 13, 2016 - 10:07 pm:

I've been at the Model T game seriously for only eight years, so I'm still learning. The T-1917 wrench for adjusting transmission bands is plentiful and cheap, and it's what I've always used.

But this spring at Chickasha I discovered the much less common 3Z-2034 (also T-2342, 5Z-324, and 16Z-1411), which does the same job. It's a ratchet. Simply slip it over the adjusting nut and pull to tighten, or flip it over and pull the other way to loosen. Very handy.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Dan B on Friday, May 13, 2016 - 10:38 pm:

Steve,

I've been doing searches for model t tools and your posts always seem to come up with great pictures.

Ever think about adding a T tool section to your website?

Not volunteering, just an idea.

Wish there was a resource to help identify the correct tools and where you can see the variations over the years. The parts books don't show the same details as modern pictures.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Steve Jelf, Parkerfield KS on Saturday, May 14, 2016 - 03:01 am:

Maybe I'll get around to a tool page eventually. Too many other fish to fry now. :-)

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Tim Wrenn-Monroeville OH on Saturday, May 14, 2016 - 08:14 am:

Bought one of those ratchet tools a while back from Dave Huson, very handy tool. I have a string on the end of mine "in case".... :-)