Anyone going to be in the MIlford Michigan area this weekend 6/11-6/12?

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2016: Anyone going to be in the MIlford Michigan area this weekend 6/11-6/12?
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Joe Fedullo, Milford MI on Friday, June 10, 2016 - 07:35 am:

Hello,

I am relatively new to T's and have been sorting out my 1914 touring for a little over a year. Things are shaping up and it drives about 200% better than when I got it. (new coils, cleaned radiator and a carb did wonders)

I have had a knock in the engine at high speeds since I bought it. I notice it a lot more now, because I am capable of higher speeds now that it is tuned up. Anyway at above 33 or so in High, reving the engine in Neutral, or high engine speed in low it knocks a little. The noise is worse on decel, and a load can make it seem to go away, but I am not sure if that is also because the engine slows down.

I am in MI, so there are a lot of T people out here. I have traded a few emails with the helpful and knowledgeable Jerry Van, and I think he has me pointed in the right direction.

I took the pan down once when I first got the car and pushed and pulled on all the rods and they all felt similar. I put everything back together and tried shorting one coil at a time recently. Shorting 3 of the coils had really no effect on the noise, but shorting the coil for Cyl#3 changed the noise. (It did not go away, but it lessened in volume and was lower frequency)