1922 T Carb.

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2016: 1922 T Carb.
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Tom Ohnesorge on Thursday, June 16, 2016 - 07:43 pm:

Hello all,

I am a relative newbie with the Model T. I inherited a '22 Touring from my dad he purchased it when he was 15 in 1950. He used to parade it alot. It was parked in about 1981. I got it out changed oil added water, replaces plugs, wiring harness and added gas it runs and I have driven it a little. The carb is in need of a rebuild, there are no tags on it. It is a Holley and from reading some posts I think it is a model G as it has three screws on top where the spray needle goes. Is that the correct model? Are these carbs hard to rebuild/adjust? I am in the midwest and also would like to find some tires not new but usable as I don't really have plans to use this car alot and don't want to spend 200 plus on new tires. I want to get running and road worthy enough to take my uncle for a ride as he rode along with my dad in the parades. Thanks for reading, responding to this novel post.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Richard Wolf on Thursday, June 16, 2016 - 08:10 pm:

I think it should be a Holly NH.
My '14 has a Holly G.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Steve Jelf, Parkerfield KS on Thursday, June 16, 2016 - 11:44 pm:

Richard is right in saying that the stock carburetor for your car would be a Holley NH, but the earlier Holley G you describe (about 1914-1920) is OK. The only problem you may encounter is parts. Everything for the NH is available new, but not all G parts are being made. Of course, if you don't need those parts it's no problem.