Straight exhaust

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2016: Straight exhaust
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Dallas landers on Friday, June 17, 2016 - 09:34 pm:

My 26 roadster pickup has sagging manifold . Is there a way to straighten it . I am new to T ownership so I depend on you guys for direction . I have new hd copper gasgets that won't line up . I was told to red rtv it but the manifold won't draw down with the rear hole so far off . Cast iron is a scary thing for me . I don't want it to twist .
Input from experience is what's needed!
Thanks

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Mack Cole ---- Earth on Friday, June 17, 2016 - 09:41 pm:

there is a method to straighten the old manifold.A bit of searching will produce a set of pics I think.

But tight as I am on money I bought a new 1 for my truck.Just as with the gas tank. Those are 2 things you buy new for a T. I think it was 89 bucks when I bought mine.
I tried the process twice and both times it was a waste of torch gas for me as the manifold broke.
But it can be done if you are careful.

Another thing experience taught me, the red rtv, forget it.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Dallas landers on Friday, June 17, 2016 - 09:56 pm:

I was wondering if new was the right way to go.
My truck is pretty rough so I like to use the rusty crusty parts to keep that farm truck feel
Thanks Mack

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Ted Dumas on Friday, June 17, 2016 - 10:16 pm: