Age old Question: What Oil to use?

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2016: Age old Question: What Oil to use?
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By John McQuiston on Tuesday, June 21, 2016 - 09:52 pm:

I am new to the Model T hobby and have been looking at various articles and blogs. Jury is still out.... What oil to use? I met a gentlemen at the MTFCA homecoming who swore by Shell Rotella 15W40.

Does anybody have strong suggestions?

Thanks,
John McQuiston

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Bob Jablonski on Tuesday, June 21, 2016 - 10:08 pm:

John:

Be ready for many suggestions, I'm using 4 Cycle Motorcycle Oil , 5W40 , synthetic....

Reason,,, Motorcycles have systems that use oil to lubricate both the engine and transmission... just like the Model T engine.... plus it has additives for extra wear protection and no friction modifiers.

Just my 2 cents

Bob Jablonski

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Tim Lloid on Tuesday, June 21, 2016 - 10:08 pm:

I use the rotella 15w 40 in my A model coupe but it was on the engine builders recommendation. I felt like I had spent so much extra on this one that I would take his advise. So far so good. Wal-Mart 5w30 in my other model A and both T s. I think it gets back to if you keep your oil changed regularly, it will be fine. I change mine every 300 to 500 hundred miles in all of my old cars or once a year. I have seen a lot of opinions, so I just stick with this for my old cars be it right or wrong.. Tim

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Jerry Brancato, Burbank CA on Tuesday, June 21, 2016 - 10:33 pm: