Making a new throttle shaft

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2016: Making a new throttle shaft
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Richard Gould, Folsom, CA on Tuesday, June 28, 2016 - 02:01 pm:

Thinking through making a new throttle shaft for a Kingston 5 ball. I can buy some phosphor bronze rod for the shaft and a 1 1/8" 18 gage brass disc for the parts I need. I am thinking I can use a slotting saw on a vertical mill, holding the shaft in a vise to cut the slot. I can drill the two holes in the shaft with the shaft and disc assembled in the carb. I am also considering opening up the top and bottom holes in the carb body a bit to eliminate any egg shape. I can turn the shaft to whatever diameter I wish. I've never done it before so I am looking for some suggestions.
One of my concerns is whether I can get a decent cut with the slotting saw. I can buy one with the right width but am concerned that the slot will be larger because of wobble.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Steve Jelf, Parkerfield KS on Tuesday, June 28, 2016 - 02:07 pm:

If the saw is mounted on a mill and the shaft is in a vise, I would expect any wobble to be negligible.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Jerry VanOoteghem - SE Michigan on Tuesday, June 28, 2016 - 02:21 pm:

Richard,