What kind of oil should i use

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2016: What kind of oil should i use
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By jeff reissner on Thursday, June 30, 2016 - 11:25 pm:

I know to alot of you this may seem like a really stupid question but what kind of oil is best for the model t motor ? I just bought this car and im ordering all the manuals and books recommended in an earlier post. But i cant wait for those come to start tinkering. Im a railroad mechanic and quite mechanically inclined but i love this car and want to do everything right. Also I know how to check the oil but i havent had much time to look the car over since i picked her up sunday. I feel so stupid asking this but where do i add the oil.(yes my head is hanging in shame)

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Michael Garrison - Rice Minnesota on Thursday, June 30, 2016 - 11:31 pm:

Jeff, look toward the front of your generator. There'll be a cap that can be lifted off. Put your oil in the hole. I run 10W30 detergent oil. I use whatever is low cost but try to avoid Pennzoil. Just about everyone you talk to will have an opinion when it comes to oil. In the end, you'll find you're best off doing what you think is right.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By John Noonan - Norton, MA. on Friday, July 01, 2016 - 12:01 am:

Jeff, no need to hang your head. Although this question is about as popular as the plague around here, its great to have new people join the T family. I personally use 10/30 but as Mike has perfectly said, its a personal choice. No matter what you choose to use, change it often depending on the conditions on how you drive it, i usually do mine at 3-400 miles.