OT- Do any of you still enjoy playing with your whizzers?

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2016: OT- Do any of you still enjoy playing with your whizzers?
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Ed in California on Friday, July 22, 2016 - 01:30 pm:

Any of you small engine guys remember or still have a whizzer lying around? This is an original 46 H on a Schwinn Phantom Ive been putting together for a few years.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Joseph A. Stearns on Friday, July 22, 2016 - 02:36 pm:

I had a Whizzer as a kid-- I paid $35 for it and it had a high compression head and ball bearing crankshaft/rod bearing.It was a beater bike but sure was fun and always ran fine. Sold it and the $ towards a 1942 Harley 45cc .

I now have a very nice 1948 Schwin/ Whizzer that is really nice and is fast.
Hope the pictures attach ok.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Erik Johnson on Friday, July 22, 2016 - 02:39 pm:

I had a 1948 Whizzer 35 years ago. It was mounted on a Schwinn Model S-4 which was a bike the Schwinn made especially for Whizzers that was designed with extra belt clearance and other modifications. It had heavy duty spokes front and rear and a front hub internal brake (which unfortunately had been wrecked by the prior owner). It had a twist grip throttle and an accessory chrome tail pipe. It was pretty shop worn but it did have a title and registration. I paid $275 for it and kept it for only a year or two and sold it to a Whizzer collector.