High gear

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2016: High gear
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Luke----central TX. on Wednesday, July 27, 2016 - 12:09 am:

I am fairly new to driving my T and have a question. When I shift into high gear, the car seems to "stumble" or "shudder" for a few seconds while getting up to speed. The car has splashers instead of magnets on the flywheel, could this cause this "shudder"? Or is this operator error (shifting too early, improper spark advance, not enough throttle)? Thank you all, any help would be appreciated.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Thomas Mullin on Wednesday, July 27, 2016 - 12:49 am:

Do you back off on the gas a bit as you shift from Low to High? Similar to a modern stick shift, the engine does not need to go as fast in the higher gear.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Luke----central TX. on Wednesday, July 27, 2016 - 12:57 am:

It has been a little while since I have driven it, but yes I think I do back off the throttle.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Royce in Dallas TX on Wednesday, July 27, 2016 - 07:37 am:

Shifting too early. Having no magnets means that you have to wind the engine higher before shifting because of the reduced flywheel weight.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Bob Coiro on Wednesday, July 27, 2016 - 08:42 am: