Engine history?

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2016: Engine history?
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By David Woods on Saturday, August 13, 2016 - 10:14 am:

Hello I am new to T's and recently picked up a '23 Touring. Unfortunately the seller having had the car for at least 30 years never even started it and knew very little of its history besides it sitting.

The car appears to have the original wires (what is left of them), the original rear panel on the top, the main top piece has been replaced but really don't see a lot of evidence that this car was really messed with a whole lot.

This winter I am planning to rewire, replace gas tank, lube car and basically go over timer, carb etc to get the car ready to start but wondered if there were any tell tale signs that the engine was rebuilt?

I did pull the inspection plate on bottom of oil pan to inspect for any metal, parts etc but so far everything looks good, car has compression and no rust in cylinders.

I did attach a photo of the crank looking through the inspection plate to see if anyone could tell if it looks like maybe the engine was serviced (maybe by the type of cotton pins) not sure. So if anyone has any ideas please let me know.

Thanks!

DavidCrank

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Erik Johnson on Saturday, August 13, 2016 - 10:43 am:

Let's see photos of the whole car.

Why wait until winter? If the car was running before it was put away and it has been kept in good storage, it shouldn't take much to get it running.

Clean the timer, clean and gap the plugs, put in some gas, oil and water, jack up the rear wheels, put the transmission in neutral or high and see if you can start the car.