Old two piece valves

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2016: Old two piece valves
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Jonathan Delancey on Sunday, August 14, 2016 - 09:05 pm:

This probably talked about many times, but I'm new to the Model T. I took the exhaust manifold off tonight and saw what looks like the infamous two piece valves. Should I change them, and is it a difficult job? Stainless or not?

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Jim Eviston on Sunday, August 14, 2016 - 09:43 pm:

If you are rebuilding the engine, yes. If it runs OK now and does not need valve job, leave it alone. I have never thought I needed stainless valves. Also,be prepared to be opening up a can of worms.Everyone that owns a T needs to buy a service manual.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Jim Eviston on Sunday, August 14, 2016 - 10:04 pm:

I was interrupted before. By can of worms I mean the following. It will probably not just need new valves. That will also mean new tappets. Probably oversize on one or both. That means reaming. Oh, gee, the cylinder walls are worn, and I can wiggle the tops of the pistons.New pistons, bored out. Alas and alack, the rods are worn. Rebuilt rods. Now, those mains, and that crank is already .025 under.......

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By John Noonan - Norton, MA. on Sunday, August 14, 2016 - 10:07 pm:

If it were mine I'd replace them, but then again, I'm pretty anal when it comes to my engine.
Here's a thread from only a few Months ago...I report, you decide. :-)

http://www.mtfca.com/discus/messages/599638/644804.html?1463933156