Rebuilding a Model T Rear End

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2016: Rebuilding a Model T Rear End
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Jon Allen on Monday, August 15, 2016 - 04:22 pm:

Think long and hard before you decide to rebuild a Model T rear end. There is a good reason why Glen Chaffin and Stan Howe no longer rebuild rear ends. After doing my own (mainly because they wouldn't) I understand completely.
I did a Ruckstell which is the more complicated case. By-the-way, Glen's book was very helpful.

I am not a cheapskate engineer. Everything that could be new is new right down to the Ruckstell housing itself. (New parts are "part" of the problem). The only old parts are the two axle gears (obtained from Chaffins) and the spider gear assembly which was in good shape.

Here is an incomplete list of what was wrong (and consequent warning to those about to do this):

1) The drive shaft hole to pin the U-joint was too far to the rear by about 3/16".

2) John Regan's pinion gear lock-ring set screw rubbed on the torque tube (even though I smoothed the inside welds). Please don't get on here and blame something else. This problem is so bad that Chaffin's now grinds them down before shipping.

3) TWO ring gears in a row(!) (from Lang's) had bad threads for the ring gear bolts. I ruined a bolt trying to force it. Ruined a tap trying to tap it. Don and Steve Lang were absolutely wonderful about replacing these ring gears. The gears were from 2 different manufacturers and both had bad threads.