HCCT availablity

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2016: HCCT availablity
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Dave Eddie on Wednesday, August 17, 2016 - 07:01 pm:

Just how rare are the hand crank coil testers?
What would a shrewd buyer expect to pay for one?

Dave Eddie

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Ron Patterson-Nicholasville, Kentucky on Wednesday, August 17, 2016 - 07:16 pm:

Dave
I have been collecting and restoring HCCT's for 25 years.
If you can send me some photos I will let you know what it is worth.
Ron Patterson
modeltcoils@windstream.com

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Eric Hylen- Central Minnesota on Wednesday, August 17, 2016 - 07:57 pm:

They're easy to find, if you start waving bills around. Complete and unrestored typically bring around $800, but can sometimes be found as low as $400. Fully restored units go as high as $1,600.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Gary Tillstrom 30 miles N of Memphis TN on Wednesday, August 17, 2016 - 08:22 pm:

If your handy, they aren't that hard to make and will work as well as a commercial unit. Having said that, John Regan came out with the strobo spark right after I built my HCCT. I have used one and if the clock were turned back (and John would have had his available sooner) I would buy the strobo scope. They are smaller, lighter, easier to store, and will allow coils to be accurate producing a smooth engine as will the HCCT.

You might however luck onto an original for under $500 (I never could).

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Robert Lawson-Kingston,TN on Wednesday, August 17, 2016 - 08:57 pm: