Anxious

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2016: Anxious
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Derrick Pang on Friday, August 26, 2016 - 02:37 pm:

As much as I love driving my T, it just doesn't give me the reassurance I need to drive far distances. Even though I am new to this hobby, I am constantly finding one thing after another to fix on this old car. And to a certain extent I understand that it is very normal in Model T's. But I just cant seem to shake of this anxiety when thinking about driving further or really letting loose and enjoying this car. I guess I'm just looking for a little perspective from guys who have been driving these cars for years. Is it normal to feel this way? Currently, there is nothing wrong with the car that would prohibit me from driving, other than I have to charge the battery. But even now, I feel hesitant to drive it out longer. Please let me know your thoughts, so that I can be a little more reassured when I am on the road. Again, this machine is still new to me...

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Clayton Paddison on Friday, August 26, 2016 - 02:53 pm:

You just have to overcome that fear.....and just drive it.

If you have a strong motor, a good charging system and good brakes, that T should go anywhere, anytime.

There will always be tinkering and noises to listen to (I do that all the time when I drive)....but you can't be afraid of it.

Get in it and go.

I have been across 4 states In mine to Utah and back :-)

I run a 35 amp alternator on my car and love the heck out of it. it charges strong and I never have to really worry about things (I have even jump started other cars with it).