OT Gooseneck Trailer vs Bumper Pull

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2016: OT Gooseneck Trailer vs Bumper Pull
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By John Memmelaar Jr on Sunday, August 28, 2016 - 11:35 am:

I Have been towing for many years, always bumper pull. I had a Transport designs 20' trailer for a long time, then bought a new to me Doolittle 28' which is a nice length to fit a my Model T plus my 1914 cadillac.

Both are heavy trailers in comparison to my fathers 1994 Featherlite which I borrow occasionally.

MY family and I have been touring further away from home, we are from NJ, and we have been going to Colorado, Kansas, and now possibly Montana. in my last trip I took the Doolittle, and got miserable mileage with my Ford F-350 Diesel 8.0-8.5mpg. With the small 25 gallon tank I was stopping for fuel way too much

I Want to make a sensible upgrade and I am looking at gooseneck trailers. I understand that they tow nicer, but is there any mileage advantage to a gooseneck of the same weight trailer? Any disadvantages of a gooseneck that I may be overlooking?

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Kenneth W DeLong on Sunday, August 28, 2016 - 12:47 pm:

I would put a 100 gal transfer tank in to make the truck ride better,and the extra range will let you price shop for fuel.Getting that kind of millage with a Diesel tell's me two things! Something is wrong with the truck or you need to lift your foot!! Myself,i don't think much of gooseneck hitches!! You in many states can not haul another trailer behind them and you have to have safty chains! I like a 5'th wheel hitch because 11,337 549 trucks can't be wrong and never let the tail wag the dog! Bud.