Wheeling truing help

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2016: Wheeling truing help
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Richard H. Ressijac on Thursday, September 08, 2016 - 03:32 pm:

I am new to the world of Model T's, and have owned a Model A for several years.

In May I brought a 1923 Touring Car, good condition, and running well after a tune-up, the car had been parked for 5 years.

I am slowly going through the car front to rear. I pulled the front hubs to check the bearings and once cleaned I noted the the outside races where spinning freely in the hubs and bearing worn on both sides. I was able to get NOS hubs from Lang's (check for true before installing) and replace them on both front wooden wheels with new races and bearings.

I now have a front right wheel that is 3/8" out of true. Is there any fix to true this wheel, and what did I do wrong when I changed the hubs that caused this wheel to be out of true (trying to learn and not make the same mistake twice).

Thanks for any help.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Jim Eviston on Thursday, September 08, 2016 - 04:18 pm:

Richard, I have loosened the hub nuts up and rocked and pushed and pulled the outside of the tire at various points. Retorque evenly. Might work.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Jim Eviston on Thursday, September 08, 2016 - 04:26 pm:

And, while 3/8" of wobble seems like a lot, if it does not shimmy I would not get excited. When you set the toe-in, try to average it so you have, say, 0--3/8" toe in. If you have too much toe-in, steering will be very quickly and touchy.