What have I got myself into

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2016: What have I got myself into
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Charlie Dill on Thursday, September 15, 2016 - 10:41 pm:

Bottom line - T last ran about 2 years ago. Haven't been able to spend much time on her this year, but was convinced I had fuel, no spark. New battery, starter turns over, fuel seems to be getting through, no ignition at all. So still thinking spark.

I've also learned that while I'm mechanically inclined, I'm not a mechanic. In other words, I can do a lot, but I can also screw up a lot. I'm hoping that step by step I can get the advice on this forum to at least get her running a little so I can then focus in on the more detailed stuff that I've been reading about on this forum.

Please be nice when you see this photos. I know that there are problems here. But I don't think anything is horrible or irreversible.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Charlie Dill on Thursday, September 15, 2016 - 10:43 pm:

The plugs are pictured mostly in order. First 2 photos are #1, then 2,3,4. Seems that 1 and 4 are in terrible shape. 2 & 3 seem ok. I figured I would post these pictures before even testing to see if there was a spark.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Charlie Dill on Thursday, September 15, 2016 - 11:18 pm:

I meant to mention that this T is fitted with a modern, 6V Coil mounted inside the coil box. I have been assuming that the original T switch / key panel on the front of the coil box was actually operational. It's either decoration in my case or those loose wires are definitely a problem.