Bendix for starter pic

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2016: Bendix for starter pic
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Tim Lloid on Saturday, September 17, 2016 - 11:15 pm:

I am still new to the model t world and couldn't find a pic on google. I took my leaking Bendix cover off my 26rpm and the two bolts that srcew into the Bendix front and back of the spring were barley had tight. So I tightened them down but do both tabs on the washer under the bolts have to be bent down or just one side. So wondering If anyone has a good pic. Thanks in advance Tim. Just to many 15 hour work days..

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Mark Gregush Portland Oregon on Saturday, September 17, 2016 - 11:19 pm:

There should be two tabs. One is bent down and fits in the gap in the spring the other is bent up after tightening the bolts. If they are missing one of the tabs they will get loose again. The tab acts as a lock to keep the bolt from turning out.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Allan Bennett - Australia on Sunday, September 18, 2016 - 06:50 am:

Tim, it pays to keep a few of the lock washers on hand. It does not pay to re-use them. When the tab holding on the bolt flat is bent down again to allow a wrench to be fitted, the lab will often break off when re-bent after tightening the bolt. Even if it does not break, it will be severely weakened, and you don't want it floating around in your engine later on.

Hope this helps.
Allan from down under

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Garnet on Sunday, September 18, 2016 - 07:22 am: