Help please - NH Carb Leak from Bowl Drain Valve Assembly.

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2016: Help please - NH Carb Leak from Bowl Drain Valve Assembly.
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Tom Melham on Tuesday, September 20, 2016 - 12:50 pm:

This is doubtless a complete beginner's question but I would be extremely grateful for any advice.

I've got a newly rebuilt NH Carb, centre drain (1926-27), and I'm having trouble stopping a slow leak around the drain plug assembly. New bowl, new drain plug assembly, new gasket (installed on the outside, as required). The actual drain valve is fine, but I simply cannot seem to stop there being a slow seepage of gasoline from under/around the gasket that fits between the plug assembly itself and the bowl.

I tried tightening the plug, of course, but I am concerned that I will strip the brass threads. (I have done this before!) How tight does one have to make this fitting?

The new gasket is from Synder's and specifically for this carb, but is surprisingly hard-surfaced.

I really need to run my car this week, but am reluctant to fire it up with gasoline leaking around the bottom of the bowl. Is it normal to have a small seepage there - should I just run the car anyway, with a fire extinguisher to hand? Should I find some gasoline-proof gasket glue to use? Should I just haul on the nut and risk another stripped assembly?

Any advice would be very gratefully received. I'm in town with my car for only a few days, and very much need to get it running to run-in a recently result engine before packing it away for the winter.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By ALAN FAIRCLOUGH from Houston, TEXAS on Tuesday, September 20, 2016 - 12:52 pm:

I would resort to teflon tape.