Theatre Sound Guy needs help Western Mass.

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2016: Theatre Sound Guy needs help Western Mass.
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Patrick Drone on Friday, September 23, 2016 - 11:55 pm:

Greetings Everyone,
I was contacted by a friend of mine who is needing to record a Model T. The is for a stage production of "Camping with Henry & Tom". Its a show about the camping trips Henry Ford and Thomas Edison used to take. If anyone in the Western Massachusetts can offer him some help please contact Brad directly. The message below is from him..

Hi everyone,
I'm not a Model T owner. I am a theatrical sound designer. I'm designing a play that I need specific recordings of the car for.
The car approaches, engine dies, and the electrical horn (some had some I hope!) dies out.
Getting the sound right would be awesome. I live in the Berkshire mountains of Western Mass.
Can anyone help me out?
Thanks!
Brad Berridge
brafberridge@me.com

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By David Dewey, N. California on Saturday, September 24, 2016 - 12:35 am:

Hmm, IF Brad is being really historically correct, the type of horn would depend on the year of the T, Magneto horn for pre-battery/starter/generator model and Battery horn for later. The "horn dying out" seems to indicate magneto horn.
Of course for dramatics, an AhOOOgAA type horn would be more recognizable to the average audience, and such horns were available as aftermarket accessories.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By David Dewey, N. California on Saturday, September 24, 2016 - 12:59 am:

Pat, That email doesn't work!!