Amusing Hershey Story

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2016: Amusing Hershey Story
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Dan Killecut on Saturday, October 08, 2016 - 11:55 am:

I've been selling at Hershey for many years. There are always amusing stories. I want to share this years funny story. I had a pair of NOS TT Running boards for sale. Now these running boards are not reproduced. If you're restoring a show truck, you really need them. Repro car running boards go for $160. I figured a fair price for the TT running boards were $250, and sold a set last year for that amount. A guy asks what I want for them, I said $250, he pulls out his wallet and first hands me a 5 dollar bill. I'm waiting for the rest, as he is looking at me strangely. All of a sudden I realized he thought I met 2.50. I told him 250 dollars, he stood there dumbfounded and then reached for his 5 dollar bill and left.

My wife's story: I had a 27 nickel plated brass radiator shell. Very nice original condition. I had 100.00 on it. A man asked my wife if she would take 50.00 for it. She said no, it's a very nice brass one, no dents or cracks. He then told her it wasn't brass, and they are all over the place for 45.00-90.00. She told him he should have bought the 45.00 one then.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By George John Drobnock on Saturday, October 08, 2016 - 03:09 pm:

People are so accustom to buying from the Big Box Stores at low prices that they have no idea the value of original or hand crafted parts. As for why the fellow did not buy the $45.00 shell. It was to expensive.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Dan Hatch on Saturday, October 08, 2016 - 05:49 pm: