Procedure for stopping a model t

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2016: Procedure for stopping a model t
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Peter Kirk on Saturday, October 15, 2016 - 08:27 pm:

Took the t out on the street, much better than last time, it was a carb float issue I think it was flooding when I hit a bump. Ran it with the foot clutch then put down the hand brake into high could not believe how much quieter it was.

My question is what is the procedure when coming to a stop when in high?
Do you pull the handbrake to neutral?

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Dallas landers on Saturday, October 15, 2016 - 08:34 pm:

I slow down with throttle well in advance then lever to neutral position . I'm new to T's but that's how I do it. Key words well in advance. I never rush up on a stop.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Derek Kiefer - Mantorville, MN on Saturday, October 15, 2016 - 08:35 pm:

I just hold the clutch unless I am going to be stopped for a while. If you're new at driving T's it may be helpful to use the lever just to be sure you don't push the pedal too far into low.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Erik Johnson on Saturday, October 15, 2016 - 08:36 pm:

Read the owners manual:

http://www.mtfca.com/books/21manual.htm

You should be able to drive without relying on the brake lever to put the clutch in neutral. Just use your feet.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Fred Dimock, Newfields NH, USA on Saturday, October 15, 2016 - 09:11 pm: