New model t owner ( in a couple of weeks)

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2016: New model t owner ( in a couple of weeks)
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Greg Joiner on Sunday, October 23, 2016 - 11:11 am:

Hello all, getting my first Model T by the first week of November.

It was running in the last 2 years and I do not expect to run it until next year. But wanted to pick you brains and ask what should I start doing to it over the winter to get it ready? Just some simple steps I should take. Also I have never worked on a Model T before, but I want to and am ready to learn ( kids are older so I have some time) so am I biting off too much, is taking care of a model t too hard for a beginner?

Any advice Thanks Greg

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Greg Joiner on Sunday, October 23, 2016 - 11:24 am:

It might help to add the year 1917 thanks

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Steve Jelf, Parkerfield KS on Sunday, October 23, 2016 - 11:57 am:

As we like to say hereabouts, welcome to the affliction. No. It's not too hard. Many early cars were made for folks who could afford hired help to keep their machines running. The Model T was made for less affluent folks who might need or want to do it themselves. With all the information available, most folks who want to are quite capable of keeping a Model T in running condition.

Start here: http://dauntlessgeezer.com/DG80.html

Then go here: http://dauntlessgeezer.com/DG93.html

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By David Dewey, N. California on Sunday, October 23, 2016 - 12:37 pm: