26 fuel tank leak

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2016: 26 fuel tank leak
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Gerald Blair on Friday, November 11, 2016 - 02:40 pm:

Hi folk
I am new to the Model T world as I just got a 1926 Runabout Monday. I am trying to work is step by step. Battery charged Check, Cranks over Check, Change the oil Check, Spark Check, and have now found the fuel tank is leaking out of the over flow tube with only a small amount of fuel. I have read on here that no one seems to make new tanks. I live in central Ohio and was wondering if anyone would know if there is a shop that could repair these? There was a Radiator repair shop in the 70's-80's in Springfield Ohio that would do this but think they have gone out of business many years ago. Any information or suggestions would be appreciated. If anyone would have a good suggestion on adding a temporary fuel tank so I can try to get it running before I spend a lot of cash to find out some serious issues I would appreciate it also.
Thanks
Gerald

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Dan Treace, North FL on Friday, November 11, 2016 - 03:53 pm:

You can try to fix that seeping from the internal pipe that is the over flow pipe.

That pipe runs thru the gas tank, and since the pipe is open at both ends all the time, it can get rusted in tiny spots from air/water ingress.

Drain the tank, then plug the lower outlet end with cork or some kind of stopper. Pour into the pipe to the top with gas tank cleaner and then the sealer (I used the Bill Hirsch small kit for motor cycle tanks.)