1926 Battery Charging

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2016: 1926 Battery Charging
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By AJ Bowlin on Wednesday, November 23, 2016 - 01:29 pm:

Hello All,

I am in need of some advice on these Model T generator systems. I have a 1926 model t Roadster and I noticed while running whether it's at a low or fast idle the ammeter in the car shows less then 5. My magneto system doesn't work so I run the car on battery. The only reason why I noticed this was because I noticed this morning as I went to start my car it sounds like a dying battery. Finally got it started and noticed like it didn't seem to be taking a charge. Im trying to figure out whether it could be a cut-out switch or generator problem. I'm a diesel mechanic so I have no problems with diagnosing, I just wanted to get a better understanding of these systems. Thank you.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By G.R.Cheshire on Wednesday, November 23, 2016 - 01:53 pm:

I am assuming it is the original 6 volt system. Is the generator putting out voltage you may need to adjust the "Third Brush" or the cut-out switch may have gone south. Will the battery charge on a charger? "T's" generally don't use much power so for the ammeter to drop to less than 5 volts after running for a few minutes is normal. Check your connections on the battery and ignition switch it is probably something simple, Good luck

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By G.R.Cheshire on Wednesday, November 23, 2016 - 01:56 pm:

Forgot there is a "T" club in your area with lots of expertise contact info
Tin Lizzie Club of North Central Florida
c/o John Farr
2163 Callaway Drive
The Villages, FL 32162
Phone: 352-446-0331