NEED ADVICE! Buying 1925 T "Torpedo Racer"

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2016: NEED ADVICE! Buying 1925 T "Torpedo Racer"
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Jake Draskiewiz on Saturday, December 03, 2016 - 12:48 pm:

Good Morning All,

I am relatively new to the Model T platform and forum. However, I discovered a unique little 1925 Model T listed for sale as a "Torpedo Racer" ($6500). What exactly is a Torpedo Racer and is it just a fancy term to describe someone's project in modifying an old Model T?

The owner stated that the "Torpedo kit" was added on in the late 1920s/early 1930s. I am not convinced this is true and just want to make sure this was actually an option in those days.

I like anything old and unique and this certainly checks all those boxes. I am a younger guy (25) and know the model T community is generally older and more "wise" haha so I figured I'd see what you all think? Yea or nay? See craigslist link below

Thanks!, Jake

http://wichitafalls.craigslist.org/cto/5832759451.html

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Erik Johnson on Saturday, December 03, 2016 - 01:06 pm:

That's a speedster that could have been assembled anytime in the past 90 years.

Looks like it has a commercially made aftermarket body. If it is homemade, someone had some talent.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Royce in Dallas TX on Saturday, December 03, 2016 - 01:17 pm:

It looks like fun. Typically a two seater is a person's second Model T, because you can only share the fun with one other person at a time, and a top is a good thing to have on a hot sunny day.

If that car runs, stops and drives reliably it seems to be priced fairly.