Installing new leather upholstery from Classtiques in my 1913 Touring

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2016: Installing new leather upholstery from Classtiques in my 1913 Touring
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By James J. Lyons III - West Virginia on Wednesday, December 21, 2016 - 02:09 pm:

So, to warning of many of my friends, I decided to purchase a new leather upholstery kit from Classtiques, and (gasp) install it myself. So far, I've covered both seat bottoms, and am about 75% of my way through the front seat back rest. Now, while I am no professional, I do believe that what I've accomplished so far looks pretty good. Besides, the interiors as installed by ford and his suppliers, were far from perfect. The photo of my seat cushion looks like it is stretched too far on the left, but this is a shadow thing and is actually straight.

The key I found to making it look good is taking your time and making sure you stuff the pleats very full. From there, it's just a matter of moving slow and and working your way around the cover.s1s2s32s4ss

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Wayne Jorgensen, Batavia, IL on Wednesday, December 21, 2016 - 02:27 pm:

Very nice!!

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Jerry VanOoteghem - SE Michigan on Wednesday, December 21, 2016 - 02:31 pm:

Really nice! You're using tacks too. Excellent.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Mark Strange - Hillsboro, MO on Wednesday, December 21, 2016 - 03:22 pm:

You're doing great! Did you have to buy any extra cotton to help fill out the pleats, or was there enough with the kit?