Do I have my 26/27 t wired wrong?

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2017: Do I have my 26/27 t wired wrong?
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Larry Prasek on Friday, January 20, 2017 - 09:23 pm:

Hi everyone. I'm a newbie here and have some questions concerning my 26/27 model T restoration project. I am wondering if I have something not wired correctly. I have followed the wiring diagram that came with my wiring harness but I have spark at the wire that goes to the generator with the switch on or off. That can't be right! Is something missing? BTW. The generator is not charging and I now have it apart. Any help is appreciated.
LJB

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Royce in Dallas TX on Friday, January 20, 2017 - 09:38 pm:

The battery is negative ground. If you have that backwards then you get a big spark as you describe.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Steve Jelf, Parkerfield KS on Friday, January 20, 2017 - 10:09 pm:

I don't know what diagram you have, but maybe this one will help.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Steve Jelf, Parkerfield KS on Friday, January 20, 2017 - 10:13 pm:

Also see...

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Bill Harper - Keene, NH on Friday, January 20, 2017 - 10:40 pm:

Hi Larry,

I see that this is your first post to the forum. Welcome to the affliction!

Royce is correct and Steve's wiring diagram is spot on about the Model T being a negative ground vehicle.

The wire to the generator's cutout (that small "can" on the gen) is ALWAYS live. There is battery voltage at the terminal even when the key is off.